John Bardeen Prize
The 2018 John Bardeen Prize is awarded to Andrey V. Chubukov (University of Minnesota), Igor Mazin (Naval Research Lab), and Sebastian Doniach (Stanford University) "For sustained theoretical contributions to the field of unconventional and multi-orbital superconductivity and superconducting quantum fluctuations"

Citation for Prof. Andrey V. Chubukov: “For seminal contributions to the theory of unconventional superconductivity, including applications to the iron-based superconductors.”

Citation for Prof. Igor Mazin: “For influential first-principles theoretical approaches to a broad class of multi-orbital superconductors, such as MgB2 and the iron-based compounds.”

Citation for Prof. Sebastian Doniach: “For pioneering work on Josephson junction coupled arrays and layered superconductors, quantum fluctuations in superconductors, and the possibility of a superconductor-insulator transition.”

The JOHN BARDEEN PRIZE was established in 1991 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) in honor of Dr. John Bardeen for “theoretical work that has provided significant insights on the nature of superconductivity and has led to verifiable predictions”. This prize is funded by the Physics Department at the University of Illinois, with an award of $6,000. USD to the recipient and a certificate.

The Nominations for 2018 John Bardeen Prize is closed on Tuesday May 22, 2018 (US central time).

For nominations, please go to the website:

Prize chair:

Prof. Eduardo Fradkin (University of Illinois)

Committee members:

Prof. Eduardo Fradkin (University of Illinois)

Prof. Sue Coppersmith (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Prof. Aharon Kapitulnik (Stanford University)

Prof. Subir Sachdev (Harvard University)

Prof. Joerg Schmalian (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Dr. John Tranquada (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

Prof. Hai-Hu Wen (Nanjing University)


2015: Geneva(Switzerland)

Vinay Ambegaokar
for his contributions to the statics, dynamics and kinetics of Josephson junctions and nanowires.

2012 : Washington DC (USA)

Steven A. Kivelson, James A. Sauls and Chandra M. Varma
for their works on the role of phase fluctuations and on the interplay between unconventional superconductivity and electronic inhomogeneity (Kivelson), and on the identification of the pairing symmetry, pairing mechanism, and multiple superconducting phases in heavy-fermion superconductors (Sauls, Varma).

2009 : Tokyo (Japan)

David Pines
for phonon-mediated pairing of electrons in conventional superconductors and superfluidity in nuclear matter.

2006 : Dresden (Germany)

Alexander Andreev, Kazumi Maki, Doug Scalapino
for their work on quasiparticles in superconductors: prediction of Andreev scattering (Andreev) , gapless quasiparticle excitations due to pair-breaking and the role of fluctuations (Maki), and life time effects of quasiparticles and how strong correlations affect their properties (Scalapino).

2003 : Rio (Brazil)

Anatoly Larkin, David Nelson, Valerii Vinokur
for their contributions to the theory of vortex matter.

2000 : Houston (USA)

T. Maurice Rice
for the physical insight he brought to the understanding of the superconducting state in strongly correlated materials in general, and for the prediction of unconventional pairing in Sr2RuO4 in particular.

1997 : Beijing (China)

Philip Anderson
for his contributions to the understanding of broken symmetry, the order parameter in the A and B phases of superfluid helium three and the role of impurities in metallic superconductors.

1994 : Grenoble (France)

Anthony J. Leggett, G. M. Eliashberg
for the development of the pairing theory to account for the thermodynamic and dynamic properties of strong coupling superconductors.

1991 : Kanazawa (Japan)

Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Alexei A. Abrikosov, Lev P. Gor’kov
for developing the GLAG theory which has proved the most useful tool to investigate superconductivity phenomenologically and, further, has also been playing a vital role in the studies of the high temperature superconductors.


John Bardeen

John Bardeen (1908-1991) was an American physicist and electrical engineer, the only person to have won the Nobel Prize in Physics twice: first in 1956 with William Shockley and Walter Brattain for the invention of the transistor; and again in 1972 with Leon N Cooper and John Robert Schrieffer for a fundamental theory of conventional superconductivity known as the BCS theory.

The transistor revolutionized the electronics industry, allowing the Information Age to occur, and made possible the development of almost every modern electronic device, from telephones to computers to missiles. Bardeen’s developments in superconductivity, which won him his second Nobel, are used in Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR) or its medical sub-tool magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

In 1990, John Bardeen appeared on LIFE Magazine’s list of “100 Most Influential Americans of the Century.”

Important Dates
Aug. 19-24, 2018


Jan. 1, 2018

Prize  Nomination Deadline:
Apr. 29, 2018

John Bardeen Prize Deadline:
May 22, 2018

Standard Registration Deadline:
Aug. 3, 2018

Conference Poster to Download