Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize
The 2018 Heike Kamerligh-Onnes Prize committee has decided that Prof. Yuji Matsuda (Kyoto University, Japan) and Prof. Louis Taillefer (Université de Sherbrooke, Canada) will share the 2018 Kamerligh-Onnes Prize "For illuminating the nature of superconductivity in unconventional superconductors"

Citation for Prof. Yuji Matsuda : "For pioneering magneto-transport and microwave experiments on exotic superconductors" 

Citation for Prof. Louis Taillefer: "For seminal magneto-transport studies of heavy fermion and cuprate superconductors"

The KAMERLINGH ONNES PRIZE was established in 2000 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) in honor of Prof. Heike Kamerlingh Onnes who discovered superconductivity in 1911. It is awarded every three years at the M2S Conference, for outstanding experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity other than materials. The award is sponsored by Elsevier, Publisher of Physica C – Superconductivity and its Applications. The Prize consists of 7,500 € and a certificate.

Nominations for the 2018 KAMERLINGH ONNES PRIZE: Nominations of a single candidate are preferred. The prize committee will examine the nominations on an individual basis, including nominations where two or three candidates are grouped together. Nomination letters can be signed by more than one scientist. The identities of nominated candidates and nominating scientists are strictly confidential.

The Nominations for 2018 Kamerlingh Onnes Prize was closed on 4/29/2018, 24:00 New Zealand time
For information on the prize, please go to the website:

Composition of the 2018 Prize Committee:
Prize chair:

Dirk van der Marel – University of Geneva, Switzerland

Committee members:

Dirk van der Marel – University of Geneva, Switzerland

Aharon Kapitulnik – Stanford University, USA

Gabriel Aeppli – Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland

Mark Golden – University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Eli Zeldov – Weizmann Institute, Israel

Previous PRIZE Winners:

2015: M2S (23-28 August, 2015, Geneva)

The 2015 Kamerlingh Onnes Prize Winner is:

Professor Gilbert Lonzarich of the University of Cambridgefor visionary experiments concerning the emergence of superconductivity among strongly renormalized quasiparticles at the edge of magnetic order.

2012: M2S-HTSC-X (29 July – 3 August, 2012, Washington DC)

Herbert A. Mook , Teunis M. Klapwijk and ystein H. Fischer for their long-term outstanding and pioneering contributions to the experimental superconductivity research :

  •    Herbert A. Mook “for several decades of important neutron spectroscopy and diffraction experiments on superconductors, especially those with magnetic tendencies”
  •    Teunis M. Klapwijk “for seminal experiments on the superconducting properties of superconductor-ferromagnet and superconductor-normal metal nano structures”
  •    ystein H. Fischer “for leadership in magnetic superconductors and pioneering STM studies in the cuprate high-Tc materials”

  • 2009: M2S-HTSC-IX (7-12 September 2009, Tokyo)

    J.C. Seamus Davis, Aharon Kapitulnik, and John Tranquada for pioneering and seminal experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity in strongly correlated electron systems:

  •    J.C. Seamus Davis “for pushing the limits of spectroscopic imaging scanning tunneling microscopy at low temperatures and applying it to pioneering studies of the cuprate high temperature superconductors”
  •    Aharon Kapitulnik “for seminal studies of time-reversal-symmetry breaking effects in unconventional superconductors using magneto optics”
  •    John M. Tranquada “for pioneering neutron scattering experiments leading to the discovery of the stripe phases in the cuprate high temperature superconductors”

    2006: M2S-HTSC-VIII (9-15 July 2006, Dresden)

    N. Phuan Ong, Hidenori Takagi and Shin-ichi Uchida for pioneering and seminal transport experiments which illuminated the unconventional nature of the metallic state of high temperature superconducting cuprates.

    2003: M2S-HTSC-VII (25-30 mai 2003, Rio de Janeiro)

    George Crabtree and Eli Zeldov for pioneering and seminal experiments which elucidated the vortex phase diagram in high temperature superconductors under various conditions of disorder and anisotropy

    2000: M2S-HTSC-VI (20-25 February 2000, Houston)

    Zhi-Xun Shen for elucidating the electron structure of high-temperature superconductors and other strongly interacting electron materials by angular resolved photoelectron spectroscopy.

    Heike Kamerlingh Onnes

    Heike Kamerlingh Onnes (1853-1926) was a Dutch physicist and Nobel laureate. He exploited the Hampson–Linde cycle to investigate how materials behave when cooled to nearly absolute zero and later to liquefy helium for the first time. Kamerlingh Onnes was significantly influenced by the pioneering molecular theory of Johannes Diderik van der Waals. In 1908, he became the winner of the race to make liquid helium and because of this, he was also to be the discoverer of superconductivity in 1911: for certain materials, electrical resistance abruptly vanishes at very low temperatures.
    Important Dates
    Aug. 19-24, 2018


    Jan. 1, 2018

    Prize  Nomination Deadline:
    Apr. 29, 2018

    John Bardeen Prize Deadline:
    May 22, 2018

    Standard Registration Deadline:
    Aug. 3, 2018

    Conference Poster to Download